Okay fucking seriously. I have no problem with this, like, in itself. I mean, it makes me personally uncomfortable, but so does buying a sandwich, so not a great barometer. But, really; is it going to cause genuine harm to cis people? No. There's no power behind it. Is it going to endanger trans* people? Nope; the impact it has isn't somehow so fantastically huge that it couldn't be filled by, like, any trans* anger ever.
But. Butbutbut.
I'm fucking sick of weaselly justifications for it, chief amongst them "oh well it's cis scum, they're both adjectives and it just means the scum who are cis so if you're not scum we don't mean you~" which is double bullshit. It's bullshit because it's weaselly and just obviously not true and not the meaning conveyed because that is just not even slightly how that kind of statement functions. If I see a bill I don't like pushed through and go "fucking tory scum" it is pretty fucking clear that I think tories, in general, are scum. Syntax means things. It's also bullshit because it disguises and devalues the actual, perfectly legitimate, thrust of the statement, which is "I am angry in general at cis people".
yay I'm actually happy with this one.
chrisgetsannoyedatthings
Sonntag, 29. Juli 2012
"Oh well trans men can't be sexist/don't receive male privilege/etc etc etc"
Dear trans men who say this shit: yeah they can and do, especially though not exclusively if they pass well as cis. Sure, I bet most trans men are more aware of sexism than most cis men are. But if you're being read as male (which is easier, because maleness is default and doesn't invite additional scrutiny of your appearance), you're getting awarded that privilege, and either way, you're, y'know, a man. That's a pretty basic qualifier for male privilege. Fucking doubly so if you're bawwing over trans men vs. trans women (and this spills over extra into non-binary faabs/maabs), and specifically "well trans men/trans faabs are invisible!" Yeah, that's true, and is a perfectly legitimate grievance, but, seriously, trans women (/trans maabs) are visible as fucking targets.
Dear cis women who say this shit: stop being a cissexist fuck or go die in a fire.
also these rants are harder to write than I thought.
Dear cis women who say this shit: stop being a cissexist fuck or go die in a fire.
also these rants are harder to write than I thought.
Abonnieren
Kommentare (Atom)