Okay fucking seriously. I have no problem with this, like, in itself. I mean, it makes me personally uncomfortable, but so does buying a sandwich, so not a great barometer. But, really; is it going to cause genuine harm to cis people? No. There's no power behind it. Is it going to endanger trans* people? Nope; the impact it has isn't somehow so fantastically huge that it couldn't be filled by, like, any trans* anger ever.
But. Butbutbut.
I'm fucking sick of weaselly justifications for it, chief amongst them "oh well it's cis scum, they're both adjectives and it just means the scum who are cis so if you're not scum we don't mean you~" which is double bullshit. It's bullshit because it's weaselly and just obviously not true and not the meaning conveyed because that is just not even slightly how that kind of statement functions. If I see a bill I don't like pushed through and go "fucking tory scum" it is pretty fucking clear that I think tories, in general, are scum. Syntax means things. It's also bullshit because it disguises and devalues the actual, perfectly legitimate, thrust of the statement, which is "I am angry in general at cis people".
yay I'm actually happy with this one.
Keine Kommentare:
Kommentar veröffentlichen